Board of Directors

The Michigan Fitness Foundation (MFF) was created in 1994 as a private charitable foundation to advance the policies and programs of the Governor’s Council on Physical Fitness, Health, and Sports. MFF’s board of directors is comprised of residents who play a vital role in the promotion of health, wellness, and physical activity throughout the state of Michigan.

Peaches McCahill, Chair Mary Zatina, Vice Chair Thomas Boehr, Secretary Steve Cook, Treasurer
Laura Appel Wayman Britt Debbie Dingell Patricia Herndon
Geraldine Jackson Chris Johnson Brigitte LaPointe Lila Lazarus
Florine Mark Raquel Thueme Justin Zatkoff

The Governor’s Council

The Governor’s Council on Physical Fitness, Health and Sports was established through an executive order issued by Governor John M. Engler in 1992 to improve the health of, and increase physical activity among, Michigan residents.

The Council is comprised of representatives from across the state, appointed by the current governor to two-year terms. The Council’s vision is that the state and its communities embrace and support physical activity and health education.

Mary Patay, Chair Wayman Britt Rick Ferkel Cameron Gordon
Andre Hutson Edwin Kornoelje Brigitte LaPointe Florine Mark
Dexter Mason Nicholas Payne Scott Przystas Laurie Rospond
Todd Turner Andrew Younger Justin Zatkoff